Excellence in Service Award

Congratulations 2023 Recipient Joe Colwell!


Tom Hartman (left) and SMC Chairwoman Angela Lam (right) present the Excellence in Service Award to 2023 recipient, Joe Colwell.



The Excellence in Service Award is presented to an individual who best exemplifies the willing dedication to be of service to the Safety Management Council (SMC), the industry, their company and the motoring public.

The judging of nominations shall be based upon the professional qualifications of the nominee, success in advancing the cause of TXTA, the TXTA SMC and highway and industrial safety. The nominee shall also be judged on his/her work and leadership in activities of TXTA, SMC and/or other organizations of safety professionals in which the nominee holds active membership.

Nominee must be a member of TXTA and TXTA SMC either employed full-time or retired from a member company. They must have served in the motor transportation industries and TXTA SMC continuously for a minimum of seven years. This includes members from motor carriers, allied companies, and law and regulatory enforcement.

Nominations, which are unsuccessful in any given year, may be resubmitted the following year by bringing the requirement information up to date at of the time of resubmission. In addition, all nominees must be domiciled in Texas. For more information, please contact Lance Shillingburg lance@texastrucking.com


2023 Joe Colwell, Commercial Fleet Data Systems
2022 Bubba Fiveash, Great West Casualty Company
2021  Arty Bentch, J.J. Keller and Associates 
2018  Ben Johnson, DISA Global Solutions
2018  Steve Wilhelms, InfoStream, an EBE Technology Company
2017  Bo Duval, Great West Casualty Co.
2012  Larry Miller, Great West Casualty Co.
2010  Mike Honeycutt, Transafe Inc.
2009  Scott Sullins, Great West Casualty Co.
2008  Ray Martin, Utility Trailer Sales


Back to Contest and Award Programs