Driver of the Year Award

Congratulations 2023 Recipient, Robert Svoboda, Jr., Walmart Transportation



   TXTA Driver of the Year, Robert Svoboda, Jr., Walmart Transportation


Applications for 2024 are now open! Click here to download.

The TXTA Driver of the Year Award is presented by the TXTA Safety Management Council (SMC) and sponsored by Tenstreet. The recipient is selected from the best truck drivers operating in the state of Texas. After being nominated by their companies, drivers are rated in categories such as number of miles traveled without a chargeable accident, consistency, politeness on the road and tenure. The TXTA Driver of the Year represents TXTA in the American Trucking Association (ATA) competition for the National Driver of the Year title.

Nominated drivers have exhibited an outstanding deed, heroism or highway courtesy, an exceptional contribution to highway safety, and/or a long record of safe and courteous driving. Nominated drivers should have an exemplary driving record and represent the best aspects of the driving profession.

Drivers must be affiliated with a TXTA member company and a Texas resident to be eligible for this prestigious award. The winner receives a Driver of the Year plaque, commemorative ring and Driver of the Year jacket. For more information, please contact Lance Shillingburg


2023  Robert Svoboda, Jr., Walmart Transportation
2022  Thes Freeney, Brookshire Grocery Company
2021  James L. Caldwell, CKJ Transport
2020  Jorge Chavez, Jetco Delivery
2019  David Hrachovy, TransChem USA, LLC
2018  Dennis Renfrow, Central Freight Lines
2017  Gary Hinze, Central Freight Lines
2016  Rick Pledger, Walmart Transportation
2015  Daniel C. Phillips, Genox Transportation, Inc.
2014  Elbert Lavoy Grider, Central Freight Lines
2013  Gary Babbitt, Central Freight Lines
2012  Ronald C. Fuller, Central Freight Lines
2011  Randy Peterson, DART
2010  Tony Jones, Central Freight Lines
2009  William Ash, Central Freight Lines
2008  David Bolden, H.E.B.
2007  Wayne Lowe, FFE
2006  Donald Hyatt, Central Freight Lines
2005  Larry Springer, Central Freight Lines
2004  Fread Cienlencki, Jr., FedEx Freight East
2003  Artermio Trevino, Plains Marketing
2002  Donald Capps, Central Freight Lines
2001  C.W. Lyons, Roadway Express



Back to Contest and Award Programs