Annual Conference header art

Thank you to everyone who joined us at the Gaylord Texan for the 2021 TXTA Annual Conference! The conference was a great success and the energy among our colleagues was infectious as everyone mixed and mingled for the first time in over a year. For those that were unable to attend, we’ve pulled together a few conference highlights—but before we get to that, we want to send a big Texas-sized thank you to our sponsors. Conference is not possible without you!

Click here to view our 2021 sponsors and join us in saying thank you!

Foundation Main Event

TXTA Foundation Main Event was a tremendous success—raising a total of $279,442 for the TXTA Foundation Scholarship program—the largest fundraising total to date. The night wasn’t all about fundraising, as we took time to recognize a deserving volunteer who has gone above and beyond to support the TXTA Foundation with the Kay Crimm Award. The 2021 recipient was Wynne Breeden Jr., K.L. Breeden & Sons. Wynne, thank you for the time, dedication and support you have provided the Foundation!

Safety/Maintenance Awards Luncheon

The Safety/Maintenance Awards luncheon is always a highlight, as it gives us time to recognize some of the best in our industry. In addition to the awards normally given out, TXTA staff member Lance Shillingburg was surprised with the Honorary Distinguished Safety Award for his dedication to the TXTA Safety Management Council (SMC) over the years! Below is a list of this year’s award winners:
Distinguished Safety Award – Angela Lam, Cheetah Transportation Systems
Sponsored by Bair Hilty, P.C. and Transafe, Inc.

TXTA Driver of the Year – James Caldwell, CKJ Transport of North Texas
Sponsored by Roberts, Cunningham, & Stripling, LLP

TXTA Truck Safety Contest Grand Champion
Sponsored by Great West Casualty
Grand Trophy – GulfMark Energy, Inc.
1st Place in the Intercity under 2.5 million – Excargo Services, Inc.
1st Place in the Intercity 5-10 million – Dupre Logistics, LLC
1st Place in the Intercity over 20 million – AAA Cooper Transportation
1st Place in the Local Under 1 million – Coastal Plains Trucking, LLC
1st Place in the Local 1 to 5 million – Petroleum Express
1st Place in the Local 5 to 10 million – GulfMark Energy, Inc.
1st Place in the Local Over 10 million – Dupre Logistics, LLC

Technician of the Year Top 5
Sponsored by Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies
1st Place – Rudy Laguna, HEB
2nd Place – Corey Tegeler, Old Dominion
3rd Place – Charles Gleason, UPS
4th Place – Steve Roen, MHC Kenworth Dallas
5th Place – Michael Kerfoot, TA Truck Service

New Officers and Board of Directors

New Executive Committee Officers and Board of Directors members were sworn-in to their new positions at the Board of Directors meeting.

TXTA Executive Committee

Chairman – Ernesto Gaytan Jr., Super Transport International
Chairman-Elect and Alternate ATA State Vice President – John Prewitt, Tideport Distributing
Secretary-Treasurer – Brandon Woods, Refrigerated Transport Inc.
ATA State Vice President – Marcia Faschingbauer, Excargo Services Inc.
Vice Chairman at Large – Mark Roesler, Acme Truck Line Inc.
Vice Chairman at Large – Kevin Mathews, GenOx Transportation
Vice Chairman at Large – Stacy Elms, Housley Group
Vice Chairman at Large – Wynne Breeden Jr., K.L. Breeden & Sons
Immediate Past Chairman – Jonathan Kennemer, CKJ Transport Inc.

New Board Members or New Terms

Terms Expiring in 2024
Tyler Barras, Utility Trailer Sales SE Texas Inc.
Kirsten Barringer, Virtual Financial Services
Adam Blanchard, Double Diamond Transport Inc.
Reghan Carlgren, Apex Capitol Corp.
Newt Cunningham, Roberts, Cunningham & Stripling
John Greene, Scopelitis, Garvin, Light, Hanson & Feary 
Coleman Medina, Coleman Worldwide     
John Mikolaitis, Cummins Sales and Service
Kim Moore, Business Financial Group
Randall Morris, Canal Cartage Co.
Glen Reynolds, Utility Trailer Sales Southeast Texas
Khrista Bishop Roach, Refrigerated Transport, Inc.
Mark Roesler, Acme Truck Line, Inc.
Glen Williams, Utility Trailer of Dallas, Inc.
Angela Lam, Cheetah Transportation Systems
Jessica King Price, Palletized Trucking Inc.
Clayton Fahey, Dunavant Transportation Group

Terms Expiring in 2023
Melissa Huddleston, Laredo Motor Carriers Association
Nate Graglia, Wallport Transit Xpress

Terms Expiring in 2022
LouAnn Wagner, Texas Auto Carriers
Stephen Greak, Coastal Plains Trucking

Click here to view the full list of TXTA’s Board of Directors

Chairman’s Dinner

We honored outgoing Chairman Jonathan Kennemer, CKJ Transport, at a party for the ages at the Chairman’s Dinner.  The Emerald City Band entertained the crowd and the dance floor was packed—and when we say packed, we mean packed! Thank you to Jonathan for his leadership and dedication. Your chairmanship will always be associated with the most significant lawsuit reform efforts we have seen to date.

Also at the Chairman’s Dinner, we recognized the 2021 Leader of the Year. The 2021 recipient was John Willis, Texas Moving Company. John is a former chairman of TXTA and the current chairman of TXTA TruckPAC. Thank you, John, for your continued leadership at TXTA!

TruckPAC Golf Classic and ELC/TruckPAC Reception

124 golfers participated in the TruckPAC Golf Classic at the Cowboys Golf Club. Even with the Texas heat, it was a great day and helped kick-off the 2021–2022 TruckPAC cycle—raising $50,000 for TruckPAC!

Winning Team
Houston Walker, J.H. Walker Trucking
Jefferson Walker, J.H. Walker Trucking
Jeremy Pulido, Pulido Energy Services
John Souza, Transtar Insurance

Longest Drive
John Souza, Transtar Insurance

Closest to the Pin
Jeremey Pulido, Pulido Energy Services
Later in the day, TruckPAC and the Emerging Leaders Council hosted a reception to recognize TruckPAC donors and to encourage donations for the next cycle—bringing in $5,500 at the reception. It’s never too early to start making your donations for the 2021-2022 TruckPAC cycle and it can all be done online.

Click here to learn more about TruckPAC and make a donation

Allied Dinner Celebration

We wrapped up the week celebrating our Allied Members with dinner and entertainment from comedian Greg Warren. It was a fun-filled night honoring our allied members and all they do for TXTA and the trucking industry.

Say Cheese Photos

If you stopped by the photo booth at the Main Event or Chairman’s Dinner, your photos are available online. Click the links below to view the photos.

Main Event Photos
Password is hero

Chairman’s Dinner Photos
Password is chairman

Emerging Leaders Council

TXTA’s Emerging Leaders Council (ELC) met multiple times over the conference and discussed ways to maximize their involvement with TXTA. They will be publishing a children’s book later this year and all the proceeds will go to TXTA Foundation. ELC is eager to amplify TXTA’s advocacy efforts through strengthening TXTA’s TruckPAC and are having discussions on additional fundraising opportunities and how to bring more members into TruckPAC. This is a very energized group of leaders, and the future is bright for trucking with this class at the wheel. The next application period for ELC will begin in January, with the next class being sworn-in at Annual Conference in 2022.

2022 TXTA Annual Conference

We look forward to seeing everyone at the 2022 TXTA Annual Conference. Mark your calendars for July 26–29, 2022 at the Horseshoe Bay Resort!