Technician of the Year

Contest Date: June 3, 2023

Registration deadline is April 21 and registration is limited to 26 total participants

The 2023 Technician of the Year Contest is presented by TXTA Fleet Maintenance Council (FMC) and proudly sponsored by Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies. The contest will be held June 3, at the TSTC Diesel Technology Center in Waco, Texas. The competition is limited to 26 professional technicians competing for cash and other prizes. Companies are limited to 2 entrants into the contest.

Participants will rotate through a series of hands-on workstations plus a written test. Each individual will also be competing for the honor of representing Texas as our State Champion in the ATA National SuperTech Competition held September 17–21, in Cleveland, Ohio.

Winners will be announced following the competition on June 3 at the Waco Hilton. The top five winners will also be recognized at the Safety & Maintenance Awards Luncheon on July 27 during TXTA’s Annual Conference at the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort.

Prizes are sponsored by Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies. In addition, Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies will present a custom Technician of the Year ring to the first place technician.

  • 1st Place – $1,500
  • 2nd Place – $1,000
  • 3rd Place – $750
  • 4th Place – $500
  • 5th Place – $250

The first place technician from the state contest will advance to ATA's Technology & Maintenance Council’s National Technician Skills Competition—TMCSuperTech—in Cleveland, Ohio. Please visit for national competition information.

2022 Technician Champions

First Place
Corey Tegeler
Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.

Second Place
Michael Kerfoot
Dickinson Fleet Services

Third Place
Bart Prescher

Fourth Place
Christopher Gerrald
TravelCenters of America

Fifth Place
Beau Hanly
Southwest International

photo of technician of the year finalists

From left to right: TXTA Immediate Past Chairman Ernesto Gaytan Jr., Super Transport International Ltd.; 1st Place, Corey Tegeler, Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.; 3rd Place, Bart Prescher, Walmart; 4th Place, Christopher Gerrald, TA; 5th Place, Beau Hanly, Southwest International; and TXTA President and CEO John D. Esparza. Photo credit Tyler Schmitt.



Back to Contest and Award Programs