TXTA Contact: Kimberly Leggett

AUSTIN—Texas Trucking Association (TXTA) recognized leaders in safety and professionalism at the Safety and Maintenance Awards Luncheon held on July 29, 2021 at TXTA’s Annual Conference at the Gaylord Texan Resort in Grapevine. 

“The recipients of this year’s awards are drivers and technicians who have gone above and beyond to promote safety on our roadways,” said TXTA President and CEO John D. Esparza. “These men and women have tirelessly worked through the COVID-19 pandemic to deliver supplies and ensure the vehicles delivering those supplies are in the best condition possible. We owe them a great amount of gratitude for all they have done, not just for the trucking industry, but for communities across the country.” 

This year’s award recipients are as follows:

TXTA Driver of the Year – James Caldwell, CKJ Transport of North Texas
Sponsored by Roberts, Cunningham, & Stripling, LLP

The TXTA Driver of the Year Award is selected from the best truck drivers operating in the state of Texas. After being nominated by their companies, drivers are rated in categories such as number of miles traveled without a chargeable accident, consistency, politeness on the road and tenure. The TXTA Driver of the Year represents TXTA in the American Trucking Associations’ competition for the National Driver of the Year title.

Distinguished Safety Award – Angela Lam, Cheetah Transportation Systems
Sponsored by Bair Hilty, P.C. and Transafe, Inc. 

This award honors an individual that exemplifies dedication to motor fleet safety and demonstrates interest, enthusiasm and leadership in achieving the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor traffic environment. 

Honorary Distinguished Safety Award – Lance Shillingburg, TXTA
Sponsored by Bair Hilty, P.C. and Transafe, Inc. 

TXTA Senior Vice President of Safety and Education Lance Shillingburg received the Honorary Distinguished Safety Award. Lance has been an employee of TXTA for 28 years and is a dedicated advocate for safety and education for the industry.  He has spent countless hours leading trainings and seminars to ensure our roads and drivers are as safe as possible. 

TXTA Truck Safety Contest Grand Champion – GulfMark Energy, Inc.
Sponsored by Great West Casualty

  • First Place in the Intercity under 2.5 Million – Excargo Services, Inc.
  • First Place in the Intercity 5 to 10 Million – Dupre Logistics, LLC
  • First Place in the Intercity over 20 Million – AAA Cooper Transportation
  • First Place in the Local Under 1 Million – Coastal Plains Trucking, LLC
  • First Place in the Local 1 to 5 Million – Petroleum Express
  • First Place in the Local 5 to 10 Million – GulfMark Energy, Inc. 
  • First Place in the Local Over 10 Million – Dupre Logistics, LLC

The Truck Safety Contest Award recognizes fleets of TXTA member companies which developed dignified professional driving performance in the trucking industry. These state winners, judged by the company's lowest overall accident frequency experience rates, are presented trophies and plaques in recognition of their achievement.

Technician of the Year Top 5
Sponsored by Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies 

  • 1st Place – Rudy Laguna, HEB
  • 2nd Place – Corey Tegeler, Old Dominion
  • 3rd Place – Charles Gleason, UPS
  • 4th Place – Steve Roen, MHC Kenworth Dallas
  • 5th Place – Michael Kerfoot, TA Truck Service

The Technician of the Year Contest was initiated in 1982 by TXTA and the Fleet Maintenance Council to recognize the contributions of outstanding mechanics of the heavy vehicle fleet maintenance industry. This contest evaluates the mechanic's knowledge of their trade and ability to utilize that knowledge on basic mechanical problems.

To learn more about the contests and awards, please visit TXTA’s website

Texas Trucking Association is a trade organization dedicated to enhancing the effectiveness of its members by advocating sound public policies, providing excellence in education, training, and information, and promoting a safe, dependable, and cost-effective motor transportation system to better serve the people of Texas. To learn more, visit www.texastrucking.com.