Distinguished Safety Award

Congratulations 2023 Recipient Don Baldridge, Gulfmark Energy

                               2023 Recipient Don Baldridge, Gulfmark Energy


Applications for 2024 are now open! Click here to download. 

The Distinguished Safety Award honors an individual that exemplifies dedication to motor fleet safety and demonstrates interest, enthusiasm and leadership in achieving the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor traffic environment. This award is sponsored by Transafe and Bair Hilty PC.

Judging of nominations shall be based upon the professional qualification of the nominee, success in advancing highway safety in the fleet, relationship and cooperation with governmental authorities whose regulations control of affect the operation of the fleet as well as methods of meeting and solving safety problems of the type of fleet in which the nominee is employed. The nominee shall also be judged on his or her work and leadership in the safety activities of TXTA Safety Management Council (SMC) and/or other organization of safety professionals in which the nominee holds active membership.

Judging will also consider the form and manner of submission of the documents. Incomplete or missing documents will disqualify the nomination from further consideration. The winner of this award receives a ring, jacket, lapel pin and plaque. For more information, please contact Lance Shillingburg lance@texastrucking.com


2023  Don Baldridge, Gulfmark Energy
2022  Van Trimble, Brookshire Grocery Company
2021  Angela Lam, Cheetah Transportation Systems Inc
2020  Ken Sellers, Dialog Wireline Services
2019  Allen (Gene) Davis, Alamo Transit-Alamo Concrete Products
2018  Chad Hall, 1845 Oil Field Services
2017  Ed Brady, ENR Consulting, LLC
2016  Steve Davis, Texas TransEastern
2015  Mike Vix, Southeastern Freightlines
2014  Steve Blake, R. Wyatt Companies
2013  Judy D’Agostino, FedEx Express
2012  Tom Hartman, Sun Coast Resources, Inc.
2011  Lonnie Bennett, Con-way Freight
2010  Dick Cunningham, CMC Steel
2009  Darrell Woody, Sunwell Corp., Redifuel
2008  Joe Atkinson, Posthumously
2007  Dennis Bonner, Adams Resources and Energy/Gulfmark Energy
2006  David Powel, Brookshire Grocery Co.
2005  Mike Meredith, Texas Disposal Systems
2004  Elaine Briles, DART Transit Co.
2003  Wade Geurin, Plains Marketing L.P.
2002  Dwight Jennings, Empire Truck Lines
2001  Don Alexander, Plains Marketing L.P.
2000  Richard Miyauchi, Wal-Mart
1999  Mike McConnell, FFE Transportation Services
1998  Alex Ayala, H.E.B. Grocery Co.
1997  Dr. Jerry Riley, Specialized Transport Services
1996  Ronnie Gillaspie, Ray Bellew and Sons
1995  Joyce Coologhan, Denison Transportation
1994  George Gaston, Grocers Supply
1993  David Hedgpeth, Frozen Food Express
1992  B.L. Manry, Palletized Trucking
1991  Royce McIver, Scurlock Permian
1990  Rob Lehnherr, Mission Petroleum Carriers
1989  James Turner, Associated Milk Producers
1988  Kirby Pugh, Merchants Fast Motor Lines
1987  Glen Honeycutt, Aggregate Haulers
1986  Ted Chappell, Western Commercial
1985  C.H. Cheshire, C & H Transportation
1984  Will Cox, Ryder Truck Rental
1983  Grady Purtle, DSI
1982  Gary D. Thomas*, Central Freight Lines
1981  Jack Corb, T, Inc.
1980  J.R. (Bob) Quattlebaum, Enterprise Products
1979  Ralph Henderson, Ryder Truck Rental
1978  Charles Norton, Merchants Fast Motor Lines
1977  Gilbert Ray*, Enterprise Transportation
1976  Joe Jenkins, J. Weingarten
1975  Murray Chapman, Chemical Express
1974  T.W. (Tommy) Neill, Western Foundries
1973  Pete Collinsworth, Bendix Tire Service
1972  Harold B. Dudley, Chemical Express
1971  Bobby Krause, Hunsaker Truck Lease
1970  T.W. (Tommy) Smith, Pacific Motor Transport
1969  R. Allen Hume, Roadway Express
1968  Jack Lowry, Consolidated Freightways
1967  Dennis Henley, Floyd West and Company
1966  John Barr, Southern Pacific Truck Line
1965  Kenneth C. Cole, Strickland Transportation
1964  W.B. Belton Duckett, Tyler Pipe Industries
1963  E.C. Johnny Johnson, Red Ball Motor Freight
1962  Perry Dawson, Brown Express
1961  Henry Lewis*, Central Freight Lines

*Indicates recipients also selected as ATA National Safety Director of the Year

Back to Contest and Award Programs