Nomination Forms and Applications

TXTA member companies and their drivers and technicians are eligible to participate in a variety of awards and contests through TXTA and the Safety Management Council and the Fleet Maintenance Council. Please click on the contest or award name below for a nomination form or application. If you have questions or need additional information, please contact Lance Shillingburg

truck award icon
TXTA Driver of the Year

Nomination Deadline
May 31, 2022

The Driver of the Year Award is presented to a Texas driver who has exhibited an outstanding deed of heroism or highway courtesy, contribution to highway safety, and/or has a long record of safe and courteous driving.

Award Sponsor
Roberts, Cunningham & Stripling LLP


safety award icon
Distinguished Safety Award

Nomination Deadline
May 31, 2022

The Distinguished Safety Award is presented by TXTA SMC to honor an individual who exemplifies dedication of service to the motor transportation industry and demonstrates the qualities of interest, enthusiasm and leadership in achieving the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor traffic environment.

Award Sponsors
Bair Hilty PC
Transafe Inc.


truck safety icon
Truck Driving Championships

Regional & State Competitions

National Competition
August 16–20

The Truck Driving Championships are a project of TXTA SMC, the local Safety Councils and TXTA FMC that seek to promote safety and professionalism among commercial drivers. Three regional championships and one statewide championship in Waco are held in the spring with drivers qualifying for national competition. Drivers are tested on their ability to maneuver and control their vehicles under a number of difficult test situations.



Back to All Contest and Award Programs