Distinguished Award for Excellence in Maintenance

Photo of 2017 Distinguished Award for Excellence in Maintenance Recipient John Gusman

Pictured from left: Terry Drinnen, US AutoLogistics and
2017 Recipient John Gusman, Mission Petroleum Carriers



Nominations for 2024 are now open. Download here

The Distinguished Award for Excellence in Maintenance is presented by the Fleet Maintenance Council (FMC) to an individual with outstanding performance and who produces results in the field of maintenance. The award is sponsored by Cummins Sales and Service, MHC Kenworth, RUSH Peterbilt and C & R Trailer Repair Inc.

Anyone actively engaged in fleet maintenance (five or more units) as an employee of a TXTA member company is eligible to be nominated for this award. If you have an employee in your fleet maintenance department who does a great job, please nominate them for the Distinguished Award for Excellence in Maintenance. No person may win this award more than one time.

The following criteria will be considered when choosing a recipient for this award:

  • Participation in council meetings at the state and local levels
  • New members enlisted into the Fleet Maintenance Council (FMC)
  • Presentations before and in cooperation with school, service, and civic groups
  • Assisting others in organizing fleet maintenance programs
  • Cooperation between maintenance and safety councils
  • Development of techniques for better and more economical maintenance programs
  • Self development

For more information, please contact Lance Shillingburg lance@texastrucking.com


2017  John Gusman, Mission Petroleum Carriers
2015  Paul Culpepper
2013  Ernest Jones
2012  Tommy Johns
2011  Bill Jett
2010  Mike Bromhall
2009  Rick Miller
2008  John May
2007  Garland Brown
2006  Tim Anderson
2005  Lee Butler
2004  Bruce Philpot
2003  Dave Huber
2002  Deke Knowlton
2001  Robert Greenwood
2000  Al Cook
1999  Ray Buckner
1998  Randy Rogers
1997  John Whitten
1996  Monty Merrell
1995  Bill Robinson
1994  Bobby Lassere
1992  Ron Bredemeyer

*No Selection in 2018–2022, 2016, 2014 and 1993

Back to Contest and Award Programs