Technician of the Year

TXTA’s Technician of the Year Contest took place on June 4 at Texas State Technical College (TSTC) in Waco. Twenty-four technicians from throughout Texas competed at the Waco campus’ Diesel Equipment Technology building. TXTA recognized the winners at the Safety and Maintenance Awards Luncheon during TXTA's 2022 Annual Conference. Visit TSTC’s website to read more about the competition.

The Technician of the Year Contest was initiated in 1982 by TXTA FMC to recognize the contributions of outstanding mechanics of the heavy vehicle fleet maintenance industry. This contest evaluates the mechanic's knowledge of their trade and ability to utilize that knowledge on basic mechanical problems.

The 2022 contest is sponsored by Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies and TXTA Fleet Maintenance Council (FMC). 2022 prizes for state winners included: 1st Place • $1,500 plus a trip for two to Las Vegas and commemorative ring; 2nd Place • $1,000; 3rd Place • $750; 4th Place • $500; and 5th place • $250. All prizes are courtesy of Eaton Cummins Automated Transmission Technologies.

The first place winner from the state contest will advance to ATA's Technology & Maintenance Council’s National Technician Skills Competition—TMCSuperTech—in Cleveland, Ohio. Please visit for national competition information.

2022 Technician Champions

First Place
Corey Tegeler
Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.

Second Place
Michael Kerfoot
Dickinson Fleet Services

Third Place
Bart Prescher

Fourth Place
Christopher Gerrald
TravelCenters of America

Fifth Place
Beau Hanly
Southwest International

photo of technician of the year finalists

From left to right: TXTA Immediate Past Chairman Ernesto Gaytan Jr., Super Transport International Ltd.; 1st Place, Corey Tegeler, Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.; 3rd Place, Bart Prescher, Walmart; 4th Place, Christopher Gerrald, TA; 5th Place, Beau Hanly, Southwest International; and TXTA President and CEO John D. Esparza. Photo credit Tyler Schmitt.



Back to Contest and Award Programs